Really good! Master this core skill and easily quadruple the ecpm income of the public account traffic

Really good! Master this core skill and easily quadruple the ecpm income of the public account traffic

How to increase the ecpm revenue of the public account traffic owner? Let's take a look at the author's method~

During this period, some partners have been talking about the decline in the main ecpm revenue of the public account traffic. I don’t know the reason, nor do I know how to adjust it...

In fact, the decline in eCPPM revenue means a decline in revenue per thousand ad impressions.

For example, your account's revenue per thousand impressions was 20 yuan before, and the latest revenue per thousand impressions is 10 yuan. So for the same article with a revenue of 100,000+, how much difference will there be in revenue?

10W/1000*20=2000 yuan, 10W/1000*10=1000 yuan; if you compare them, you will find that although both are hot-selling products with sales of 10W+, the decline in ecpm revenue can lead to such a huge difference!

So, if you make money from the traffic of your public account, is it not important to understand ecpm? ?

As for how to increase the traffic of public accounts and the core skills of ecpm, today Uncle Qi will tell you all at once! Save this article and refer to the analysis process directly when you encounter similar problems in the future.

1. Discover the problem

These are two screenshots of the partner's traffic revenue in the group.

His question is: "The returns vary greatly. What went wrong? And how can we adjust it?"

Because the question was not specific enough, Uncle Qi made it specific↓↓
"Under the same account, the main revenue of the bottom advertising traffic in two different time periods is different. What is the problem and how to adjust it?"

2. Analyze the problem

Then let’s analyze what went wrong?

According to the formula: ecpm = ad impressions per thousand times cpm * click-through rate ctr * cpc unit price

Screenshot 1 Total revenue = 2069*0.68%*cpc unit price = 20.69 yuan

Screenshot 2 Total revenue = 2314*0.26%*cpc unit price = 3.04 yuan

So we can deduce that:

The CPC unit price of screenshot 1 is ≃1.47 yuan

The CPC unit price of screenshot 2 is ≃0.49 yuan

Since there is no obvious difference in the ad exposure rate of the two screenshots, we can conclude from the above data that the main factors affecting the main revenue of the two parts of screenshot traffic are:

(1) The decrease in CPC unit price was 66.66%

(2) The CTR click-through rate decreased by 61.7%

3. Positioning Issues

When the account area is determined, there are four main factors that reduce the CPC price:

  1. Advertising factors: Sometimes the CPC unit price of the advertisement type is low. This is normal and can be ignored over a long period of time.
  2. Due to system factors, at different stages of the account, especially the new account stage, the system cannot recognize your account tags and accumulated advertising data, so it is normal that the unit price of the advertising types is low.
  3. Advertiser factors: the conversion effect of a certain advertising plan on the target users is very poor, and the CPC unit price is significantly reduced.
  4. Optimize the background advertising settings. In fact, according to Uncle Qi’s test, even if you choose an advertisement with a high industry, the impact is not great. After all, the system will actively accumulate advertising data for your account population. The system knows better than you which advertisement is more suitable for your account...

Generally speaking, the only thing that bloggers can actively control about CPC is the field they choose their account in. The CPC prices of advertisements placed in different fields are different.

However, the probability of a hot article in different fields varies greatly. So when you make money by relying on traffic, it is up to you to decide whether to choose a field with a high CPC unit price or a field that is easy to produce hot articles.

Without guidance intervention, the CTR click-through rate decreased mainly due to two factors.

  1. Account fan factors: Is there a difference in the source and quality of fans between this period and the previous period? If there is a big difference, it will also lead to a decrease in click-through rate.
  2. The advertising factor is that the ads delivered by the system during this period of time do not match the account fans, resulting in a decrease in click-through rate.

4. Designing an Experimental A/B Test

The ultimate goal of this problem is to increase the ECPPM revenue, so we designed experimental tests on the factors affecting the CPC unit price and CTR unit price that affect the revenue.

1. CPC unit price optimization

When the account scope is determined, the core factors affecting the CPC unit price are the stage of the account and the conversion effect of the advertising.

(1) Account stage

In the new account stage, the system cannot recognize your account tag, and there is no advertising data accumulated, so it is normal for the CPC unit price to be low at this stage, and the system will automatically optimize.

This factor can be ignored in the long run, and we do not need to intervene too much.

(2) Advertising conversion effect

This is related to the content of the advertisements and the quality of the followers of the account. We cannot control the content of the advertisements, but we can optimize the quality of the followers of the account.

As for the conversion effect of advertising, what we can control is to package the account with high quality, from the avatar, introduction, article layout style, content tone, content quality and so on. If the overall account is low, then it will definitely attract mostly low-end people.

After all, high-quality and high-pursuit people have greater advertising commercial value. If the account fans have a high conversion rate for advertising purchases, then advertisers will also raise the CPC price to madly plunder your traffic.

2. CTR click rate optimization

When the account scope is determined, the core factors affecting the CTR click-through rate are the account fan factor and the advertising factor.

In fact, the core reason for the lower click-through rate is that there is a poor match between the account fans and the advertisements delivered by the system.

(1) Account follower factor

Analyze the methods you used to increase your followers during these two periods. Are there any differences?

If the sources of the followers are different, it means that the new followers do not match the advertising content of the current account.

So do you decide to continue to divert traffic to this channel and run the account advertising model again? Or do you decide to stop diverting traffic to this channel? It depends on you!

(2) Advertising factors

This is because the ads delivered do not match the account population. We do not need to intervene. Just extend the timeline and the system will automatically correct the optimal ad type delivery model for you.

For the above factors affecting CPC and CTR, it is necessary to strictly follow the A/B testing rules to accurately locate where the problem lies!

V. Core Summary

If CTR and CPC remain unchanged, the hit article can indeed increase the main revenue of traffic, but it only affects the total number of ad impressions, but ECPM does not change... (thousands of impressions, this is quantitative, the variables are CTR and CPC)

Based on the above analysis, you will find that if we want to optimize ecpm, the advertisements placed on the account are not what we need to worry about, because the system will automatically optimize based on the data.

VI. Final Conclusion

To improve ecpm, we need to solve the account problem and how to attract more high-quality users with high commercial value in the field.

The essence of ecpm is the matching degree between users with high-quality demand in the field and the advertisements placed.

Because high commercial value means strong purchasing power and high CTR click-through rate, which will lead to good conversion rate of advertising, and the CPC unit price will be raised.

So how do we attract high-quality users with high commercial value?

Then imagine that you are such a user, what are your requirements for following an account?

Therefore, it ultimately comes down to "high-quality packaging of the account", which means ensuring that everything from the avatar, introduction, homepage design, article layout style, content tone, the quality of the required content, etc. is packaged in place.

With high-quality commercial value users in the field, CPC increased by 2 times, CTR increased by 2 times, and then ECPM increased by 4 times, do you still think it is difficult?

Author: Lao Qi WeChat public account: Qishu Entrepreneurship Circle

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